News – CDB (Coconut Development Board) Celebrated World Coconut Day 2018 on 2nd September

Home / Imports and Exports / News – CDB (Coconut Development Board) Celebrated World Coconut Day 2018 on 2nd September

Coconut Development Board (CBD) celebrated the ‘World Coconut Day 2018’ on 2nd September, in association with the Dept. Of Horticulture, Govt.of Chhattisgarh on the concept ‘Coconut for Good Health, Wealth & Wellness’ at Indira Gandhi Krishi Vishwavidyalaya Raipur in the state of Chhattisgarh. The program was inaugurated by Radha Mohan Singh, Union Minister for Agriculture and Farmer’s Welfare, inaugurated the programme, and was presided by Brijmohan Agarwal, Agriculture Minister, Chhattisgarh.

World Coconut Day is celebrated every year on 2nd September to mark the establishment of the Asian Pacific Coconut Community (APCC).
Every year 2nd September is celebrated as World Coconut Day to commemorate the formation day of Asian Pacific Coconut Community (APCC), an intergovernmental organization of countries producing coconuts, formed in 1969, with the support of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP). Comprising 18 member nations, the APCC was started to coordinate, harmonize and promote coconut growth and developmental activities of the Asian Pacific regions, which helps bolster and boost economic development. India is one of the active members of APCC, also being its founder member.
In India, the World Coconut Day is observed every year under the guidance and support of the Coconut Development Board in several coconuts growing states of the country.
About 500 farmers from Indian states that grow coconuts participated in the celebration. An exhibition was organized that showcased the several innovative value-added products of this ‘versatile’ fruit and cutting-edge technologies in this sector as part of the annual event. The program was followed by a technical session based on the theme ‘Coconut for Good Health, Wealth & Wellness’ moderated by Dr P. Chowdappa, Director, Central Plantation Crops Research Institute (CPCRI).